Skip to main content
Engineering 360°


Turton, Kecojevic, Fulay and Dean

L to R: Turton, Kecojevic, Fulay and Dean

Photos by Nesbit

Several faculty members were appointed to senior administrative positions, effective July 1.

Richard Turton, WVU Bolton Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, was named chair of the Department. A member of the faculty since 1986, Turton has conducted extensive research in the area of process simulation of power plants and power technology. He serves as the director of the National Research Center for Coal and Energy’s AVESTAR® Center, a state-of-the-art training simulator that provides realistic, hands-on experience for operating clean energy systems in the smart grid era. He was a member of a research team that won an R&D 100 Award – a national award known as the “Oscar of innovation” – for the development of a virtual reality-based software that provides the energy industry with an unprecedented high-tech look inside the operation of power plants.

Vladislav Kecojevic has been named the Robert E. Murray Chair of the Department of Mining Engineering. Kecojevic, who had been serving as interim chair since August 2017, has been on the faculty in the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources since 2010. He has conducted research in the areas of surface mining, surface mine safety, information technology and environmental issues in surface mining. Kecojevic has been recognized internationally for his contributions to the mining industry. He was awarded the Erskine Ramsay Medal from the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers in 2017 for his contributions to the research, education and service in surface coal mining and for his international recognition as a researcher, teacher and academic leader.

Associate Dean for Research Pradeep Fulay and James Dean, director of mining and industrial extension, were reappointed to their positions. According to Gene Cilento, Glen H. Hiner Dean of the Statler College, Fulay has “been especially effective in helping new Statler College faculty hires to develop active research programs and to achieve major external funding, including awards such as National Science Foundation CAREER Awards.” He also noted that Dean was praised for working diligently to represent his Department to the professional communities it serves.

Department chairs are reviewed every five years by the College. Evaluations include input from faculty members, staff, students and other constituents.